NO. R-134.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2003 Division III Arlington High School Eagles championship boys’ basketball team.


Offered by:  Representatives Molloy of Arlington, Bartlett of Dover, Botzow of Pownal, Carey of Chester, Corcoran of Bennington, Freed of Dorset, Krawczyk, J. of Bennington, Miller of Shaftsbury, Morrissey of Bennington, Rusten of Halifax and Waite of Pawlet.

Offered by:  Senator Sears of Bennington County and Senator Shepard of Bennington County.

Whereas, championship boys’ basketball is synonymous with the Division III Arlington High School Eagles who, prior to the 2003 season, had earned eight divisional crowns since 1983, and

Whereas, the Eagles were especially motivated this season, adopting a team theme of “unfinished business” as they had nearly clinched the championship in each of the last three seasons, and, of greater importance, sought to memorialize their much respected and admired former coach, Joe Corey, who died during the 2002-2003 season, and

Whereas, despite being seeded only sixth in the post-season tournament rankings, the Eagles displayed an impressive offensive prowess defeating South Royalton 100-74 in a preliminary round, achieving a scoring benchmark only rarely obtained in high school basketball, and

Whereas, after besting Thetford Academy, the team which eliminated the Eagles in the 2002 playoffs, Arlington was matched against the fourth‑seeded Leland and Gray Rebels for the championship game, and

Whereas, the Eagles opened the first period with a quick 8-0 lead, foreshadowing an ultimate victory, despite their opponent’s tenacious attempts to overcome the Eagles’ fine performance on Barre Auditorium’s hardwood court, and

Whereas, the closeness of the opening half was symbolized by the Eagles’ narrow halftime 27-23 lead, and

Whereas, any doubts the Eagles were headed for victory were dispelled with six minutes remaining in the game when senior Glenn Sherman applied his offensive skills to complete a three-point play and expand Arlington’s lead to double digits, 45-35, and thus assure the Eagles’ ultimate 50-59 Division III championship win, and

Whereas, Eagles Ryan Csizmesia, Kevin O’Dea, Glenn Sherman, Lee Chubet, Rob Hart, Austin Roberts, Kyle Crofut, Shawn Murphy, Jeremy Snow and Kevin Sheldon are to be congratulated for a spirited team effort throughout the season, and

Whereas, coach Gregg Gunther has proven to be a worthy successor to his much revered predecessor, Joe Corey, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2003 Division III Arlington High School Eagles championship boys’ basketball team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Gregg Gunther at Arlington High School.