NO. R-124.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2003 Burlington High School Seahorses Division I championship boys’ basketball team.


Offered by:  Representatives Tracy of Burlington, Aswad of Burlington, Atkins of Winooski, Cross of Winooski, Donovan of Burlington, Hingtgen of Burlington, Keogh of Burlington, Kiss of Burlington, Larson of Burlington, Wright of Burlington and Zuckerman of Burlington.

Whereas, the fourth‑seeded Burlington High School Seahorses boys’ basketball team confidently entered Patrick Gymnasium Friday, March 14, prepared to play the seventh‑seeded Colchester High School Lakers for the Division I championship title, and

Whereas, the Seahorses earned their ticket to the championship game by defeating their cross-town rival, the Rice Memorial High School Little Indians, a team which beat them twice in regular season play, in an exciting semifinal contest which Burlington won with just 0.6 seconds remaining in the fourth and final period, and

Whereas, the Seahorses learned quickly why the Lakers were the opposing team as Colchester surged ahead with an 8-2 lead, and

Whereas, the young men from Burlington then exhibited their own full‑court effort when 25‑point scorer Geri Guillory, in tandem with fellow Seahorses Nate Dodge and Shaun Collette, ignited a shooting spree which before the second period was over, placed the team in a 19-11 lead, one which the Lakers, despite repeated attempts, never surpassed, and

Whereas, in the fourth quarter, Burlington’s offensive charge was at its peak as the Seahorses tapped in 17 points, enabling them to secure a 55-40 victory and the 2003 Division I championship, and

Whereas, a key element of the Seahorses’ success has been the sharp defensive performance of Peadi Bevins, and

Whereas, consistency and high quality on‑court performance have been Burlington’s trademarks this season as reflected in the team’s 19-5 record and season, concluding a ten‑consecutive‑game winning streak, and

Whereas, Seahorses Chris Hudson, Nate Dodge, Tim Stuart, Sean Nemitz, C.J. Walsh, Peadi Bevins, Emmanuel Masumbuko, Geri Guillory, John O’Brien, and Shaun Collette, with the support of team manager Andy Siple, demonstrated that teamwork can lead to victory, and

Whereas, first-year head coach Matt Johnson, along with assistant coaches Pete Carroll and Ray Hunter, exhibited both basketball expertise and leadership skills in guiding the Seahorses to the Division I championship, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2003 Burlington High School Seahorses Division I championship boys’ basketball team, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Matt Johnson at Burlington High School.