NO. R-116.† House concurrent resolution congratulating the 2003 University of Vermont Catamounts America East championship menís basketball team.


Offered by:† Representatives Pugh of South Burlington, Tracy of Burlington, Wright of Burlington, Adams of Hartland, Allaire of Rutland City, Amidon of Charlotte, Anderson of Woodstock, Aswad of Burlington, Atkins of Winooski, Audette of South Burlington, Bailey of Hyde Park, Baker of West Rutland, Bartlett of Dover, Bohi of Hartford, Bolduc of Barton, Bostic of St. Johnsbury, Botzow of Pownal, Branagan of Georgia, Brennan of Colchester, Brooks of Montpelier, Brown of Walden, Carey of Chester, Chen of Mendon, Clark of St. Johnsbury, Clark of Vergennes, Connell of Warren, Corcoran of Bennington, Cross of Winooski, Crowley of West Rutland, Dakin of Colchester, Darrow of Dummerston, Deen of Westminster, DePoy of Rutland City, Donaghy of Poultney, Donahue of Northfield, Donovan of Burlington, Dostis of Waterbury, Dunsmore of Georgia, Edwards of Brattleboro, Emmons of Springfield, Endres of Milton, Errecart of Shelburne, Fallar of Tinmouth, Fisher of Lincoln, Flory of Pittsford, Freed of Dorset, French of Randolph, Gervais of Enosburg, Grad of Moretown, Gray of Barre Town, Haas of Rutland City, Head of South Burlington, Heath of Westford, Helm of Castleton, Hingtgen of Burlington, Houston of Ferrisburgh, Howrigan of Fairfield, Hudson of Lyndon, Hummel of Underhill, Hunt of Essex, Jewett of Ripton, Johnson of Canaan, Keenan of St. Albans City, Kennedy of Chelsea, Keogh of Burlington, Ketchum of Bethel, Kilmartin of Newport City, Kiss of Burlington, Kitzmiller of Montpelier, Klein of East Montpelier, Koch of Barre Town, Krawczyk, A. of Bennington, Krawczyk, J. of Bennington, Larocque of Barnet, Larrabee of Danville, Larson of Burlington, LaVoie of Swanton, Lippert of Hinesburg, Livingston of Manchester, Maier of Middlebury, Marek of Newfane, Marron of Stowe, Martin of Springfield, Masland of Thetford, McAllister of Highgate, McCullough of Williston, McLaughlin of Royalton, Milkey of Brattleboro, Miller of Shaftsbury, Miller of Elmore, Molloy of Arlington, Monti of Barre City, Morrissey of Bennington, Myers of Essex, Nease of Johnson, Nuovo of Middlebury, Obuchowski of Rockingham, OíDonnell of Vernon, Otterman of Topsham, Parent of St. Albans City, Partridge of Windham, Peaslee of Guildhall, Pelham of Calais, Perry of Richford, Peterson of Williston, Pillsbury of Brattleboro, Reese of Pomfret, Robinson of Richmond, Rodgers of Glover, Rogers of Castleton, Rusten of Halifax, Schiavone of Shelburne, Seibert of Norwich, Severance of Colchester, Shand of Weathersfield, Sharpe of Bristol, Shaw of Derby, Smith of New Haven, Smith of Morristown, Sunderland of Rutland Town, Sweaney of Windsor, Sweeney of Colchester, Symington of Jericho, Towne of Berlin, Trombley of Grand Isle, Valliere of Barre City, Vincent of Waterbury, Webster of Randolph, Westman of Cambridge, Winters of Swanton, Winters of Williamstown, Wood of Brandon, Young of Orwell and Zuckerman of Burlington.

Offered by:† Senator Condos of Chittenden County, Senator Leddy of Chittenden County, Senator Lyons of Chittenden County, Senator Miller of Chittenden County, Senator Munt of Chittenden County, Senator Snelling of Chittenden County, Senator Ayer of Addison County, Senator Bartlett of Lamoille County, Senator Bloomer of Rutland County, Senator Campbell of Windsor County, Senator Canns of Caledonia County, Senator Collins of Franklin County, Senator Cummings of Washington County, Senator Doyle of Washington County, Senator Dunne of Windsor County, Senator Gander of Windham County, Senator Gossens of Addison County, Senator Greenwood of Essex-Orleans County, Senator Illuzzi of Essex-Orleans County, Senator Kittell of Franklin County, Senator MacDonald of Orange County, Senator Maynard of Rutland County, Senator Mazza of Grand Isle County, Senator Mullin of Rutland County, Senator Scott of Washington County, Senator Sears of Bennington County, Senator Shepard of Bennington County, Senator Welch of Windsor County and Senator White of Windham County

Whereas, University of Vermont (UVM) Catamountsí menís basketball has a 103-year record of illustrious accomplishments, but until 2003, winning a postseason tournament title had proven elusive, and

Whereas, during the 2002-2003 season, UVMís outstanding regular and post-season play culminated in the second‑seeded Catamountsí appearance in the America East tournamentís championship game against the top‑seeded Boston University Terriers, and

Whereas, the Catamounts rapidly jumped ahead to an impressive 16-2 first quarter lead, and the score stood 30-22 in their favor at the halfway point, and

Whereas, the Terriers were not about to cede easily the conference title as they aggressively narrowed the Catamountsí lead, and with 8:18 remaining to play, the men from Bean Town assumed a narrow 47-45 point advantage, and

Whereas, despite the enormous pressure of a wildly enthusiastic Boston University hometown crowd, Catamount Germain Njila executed a successful three-point play, and the lead reverted to the Catamountsí favor, 48-47, and

Whereas, in the unbelievably exciting final minutes, each team momentarily surged ahead until the Catamounts, trailing 55-54, called a time‑out with only 28.5 seconds remaining, and

Whereas, after a brief team strategy session with head coach Tom Brennan, Catamount Dave Hehn completed a baseline pull-up shot, sealing a 56-55 Catamount triumph, thus enabling the Catamounts to claim the 2003 America East menís basketball championship title, and

Whereas, capturing the America East title entitled the Catamounts to a† berth in the National Collegiate Athletic Association Tournament and their first appearance ever in the annual collegiate basketball ritual known as March madness, and

Whereas, Matt Sheftic, who scored a career high of 23 points, eight of them in the gameís crucial closing minutes, was named the tournamentís most outstanding player, and

Whereas, Catamounts David Hehn, Germain Njila, Matt Sheftic, Grant Anderson, Taylor Coppenrath, who was designated the America Eastís Most Valuable Player of the Year award winner, Jack Phelan, Andre Anderson, Mike Goia, Corey Sullivan, Scotty Jones, T.J. Sorrentine, and Martin Klimes all deserve special recognition for their roles in this historic tournament victory, and

Whereas, head coach Tom Brennan, associate head coach Jesse Agel and assistant coaches Pat Filien and Jeff Rush motivated the team to play so successfully, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly is thrilled to congratulate the University of Vermont 2003 Catamounts America East championship menís basketball team, and be it further

Resolved:† That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to University of Vermont President Dan Fogel, athletic director Richard Farnham, head coach Tom Brennan and sports information director for menís basketball Bruce Bosley.