NO. R-95.  House concurrent resolution honoring The International Experience (TIE) at South Burlington High School on the occasion of the program’s 30th anniversary and welcoming the program’s Japanese exchange delegation.


Offered by:  Representatives Trombley of Grand Isle, Amidon of Charlotte, Audette of South Burlington, Head of South Burlington, Johnson of South Hero, Mazur of South Burlington, Pugh of South Burlington and Westman of Cambridge.

Offered by:  Senator Condos of Chittenden County, Senator Bartlett of Lamoille County, Senator Leddy of Chittenden County, Senator Lyons of Chittenden County, Senator Mazza of Grand Isle County, Senator Miller of Chittenden County, Senator Munt of Chittenden County and Senator Snelling of Chittenden County.

Whereas, cultural understanding among diverse nations is enhanced through international exchange programs, and

Whereas, student exchange programs establish a foundation for our future citizens to appreciate better societies different from our own, and

Whereas, improved international understanding leads to enhanced social and economic relationships between nations and to a lowering of political tensions, and

Whereas, one of the outstanding international student exchange programs in the United States is The International Experience (TIE) based at South Burlington High School (SBHS), and

Whereas, since TIE’s inauguration in 1973, the program has afforded SBHS students the opportunity to visit Germany, France, and Costa Rica, attend high school classes in those countries, reside with host students’ families, and welcome youngsters to South Burlington from each of those nations, and

Whereas, recently, Japan was designated as the newest addition to the list of TIE participating countries, and

Whereas, in the summer of 2002, eight SBHS students, including Katherine Servidio of Charlotte, Jake Todd of Jeffersonville, Nathan Trombley of Grand Isle, and South Burlington residents Trevor Dusablon, Kimberly Pugh, Amy Quenneville, Julia Sprenz, and Kyle Vonnegut, and two participating teachers, Arlene Moore and Kristine Stahlbrand, traveled to Japan, spending two and one-half weeks at the Futaba High School on Otaru (Hokkaido), and

Whereas, in exchange, in March 2003, 12 students – Itaru Hasegawa, Yui Hatakeyama, Kana Honma, Eri Ito, Ayano Ittetsu, Mami Kasaya, Rena Matsuda, Hara Mika, Hikari Uemura, Mami Yamamoto, Woo Hyang Yang, and Genki Yoshino – and two teachers, Toshi Michiba and Mitsunori Notsuki – are returning the visit, and

Whereas, these Japanese students are visiting the State House to observe the American legislative process during a session of the General Assembly, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates South Burlington High School on the 30th anniversary of The International Experience student exchange program and warmly welcomes the visiting students and teachers from Japan, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to each visiting student and teacher from Japan named in this resolution and to South Burlington High School.