NO. R-83.  House concurrent resolution congratulating the Fair Haven Union High School Slaters and the Rutland High School Raiders on jointly winning the 2003 girls’ indoor track and field state championship title.


Offered by:  Representatives Chen of Mendon, Allaire of Rutland City, DePoy of Rutland City, Duffy of Rutland City, Haas of Rutland City, Rogers of Castleton and Sunderland of Rutland Town.

Offered by:   Senator Maynard of Rutland County.

Whereas, throughout the 2002-2003 interscholastic girls’ indoor track and field season, two teams from Rutland County, the Fair Haven Union High School Slaters and the Rutland High School Raiders, one of which has won every state championship in this sport, consistently impressed their coaches and classmates with outstanding team and personal performances, and

Whereas, at the 2003 state championship meet in Northfield, these intracounty athletic rivals were locked in direct competition for the season’s ultimate crown, and

Whereas, the Raiders, trailing by the score of 88-82 with only the 4x400 relay remaining, relied on their relay runners Mackenzie Sivret, Denise Riordan, Lindsey Taylor, and Kathleen Sanborn who recognized the state title hinged on surpassing all their competitors in this event, and they met this special challenge completing the relay in a time of 4:26.38 and tying the Slaters for the state crown at 92 points, and

Whereas, individually, the Rutland team truly shone as Raiders Kathleen Sanborn ran a first-place finish in both the 1,600- and 1,000-meter races, and Allie Buzzell was ahead of the pack in the race covering 3,200 meters, and

Whereas, the Slaters equaled Rutland on an individual basis as Mary Heitkamp raced ahead of all comers in both the 300- and 600-meter events, and she was named the girls’ indoor track and field athlete of the year, and

Whereas, every competitor involved throughout the 2002-2003 season, including Fair Haven Union High School Slaters Liza Amery, Kristin Coro, Rachel Forster, Mary Heitkamp, Kedi Kinner, Katherine Lapre, Krista Mallette, Courtney Parent, Courtney Parker, Molly Stanton, Lydia Thornblade, Hillary Waterhouse, Sam Wesnefski, and Cilla Wood, and Rutland High School Raiders Lori Allaire, Kate Brittain, Allison Buzzell, Jessica Campbell, Alyssa Chen, Breanna Coombs, Jillian Gee, Elizabeth Hall, Meg Howard, Yvonne Olney, Laura Pierce, Kristen Pockette, Denise Riordan, Kathleen Sanborn, Jessica Scherer, Mackenzie Sivret, Lindsey Taylor, and Jessie Wetherby competed enthusiastically and with great determination to succeed, and

Whereas, the stellar coaching techniques which Slaters Head Coach Dave Heitkamp and Assistant Coach Chris Stanton and Raiders Head Coach Tom Heffernan and Assistant Coaches Mike Carmolli and Kent Smith exhibited all season were significant contributors to this historic girls’ track and field cochampionship, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates both the Rutland High School Raiders and the Fair Haven Union High School Slaters on jointly winning the 2003 girls’ indoor track and field state championship, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy to Tom Heffernan at Rutland High School and Dave Heitkamp at Fair Haven Union High School.