NO. R-36.  House concurrent resolution honoring the Green Mountain Council Boy Scout Eagle Class of 2002.


Offered by:  Representatives Koch of Barre Town, Crowley of West Rutland, Kennedy of Chelsea, Marron of Stowe, Martin of Springfield, Masland of Thetford, Mazur of South Burlington, Miller of Shaftsbury, Nitka of Ludlow, Schiavone of Shelburne, Sheltra of Derby and Webster of Randolph.

Whereas, the Green Mountain Council of the Boy Scouts of America has provided thousands of young Vermont lads, be they rich or poor, from Bennington to Canaan, with a special opportunity to learn important lifelong skills and values, and

Whereas, through their membership in the Boy Scouts of America, these young men receive important preparation for future citizenship and leadership positions, and

Whereas, the ultimate goal of every Boy Scout is to achieve the rank of Eagle, and

Whereas, fewer than two percent of all Scouts succeed in completing the challenging requirements for Eagle Scout, and

Whereas, 71 Scouts in Vermont achieved the rank of Eagle Scout in the year 2002, including Jeremy James Allaire, Ryan E. Aubin, Tyler Guy Badeau, Matthew Dewey Baldwin, Andrew Robert Beaupre, James Steven Behun, William Kistner Bernath, Christopher Robin Blouin, Andrew Arthur Carlisle, Kyle Stephen Carpenter, Matthew Richard Combs, Matthew Lane Corey, Richard A. M. Coutu, Jordan M. Couture, Benjamin Joseph Davis, Christopher James Delp, Daniel A. Demar, John Armand Devino, James Adolphus Dewing III, Cody Robert Durant, Samuel Michael Dworkin, Eric Timothy Fogg, Devin R. Franklin, Preston Scott Franzen, Andrew Michael Gannon, Zachary Alan Gazzaniga, Kevin Michael Ginter, Daniel Euclide Guillette, Trevor Allyn Halperin, James Daniel Harhen, Daniel Joseph Hathaway, Jacob Samuel Hill, Jacob V. Jenness, Erik C. Johnson, Jeremiah Thomas Johnson, Matthew Daub Keiter, Justin D. Kelsey, Brian R. Kent, Kristopher Michael Kingsbury, Dale Dempsey Kunkel, Jereme Michael Lamothe, Taylor Cushman Lance, Benjamin Cole Lee, Andrew Joseph Liptak, Brian Michael Lusignan, Kevin Paul Martineau, Ryan McCarthy, James Andrew McClintock, Ryan Nicholas Miller, Christopher Adam Mooney, Todd Whitney Owen, Christopher T. Panko, Travis J. Papineau, Neal Brewster Purchase, Rayburn Joshua Reed, Christopher Rocheleau, Kurt Barret Schaberg, John Edward Shanks, Clair Wallace Sherman, Andrew Peter Spencer, Alexander James Stimpson, Joshua Michael Tabor, Michael Paul Tartaglia, Kenneth Robert Tompkins, Paul John Vallett, Peter Williams Wackernagel, Laughton Eugene Whitcomb, Aaron Collier Wilson, Jeremiah Levi Winship, Matthew James Young, and Michael Paul Zylinski, and are gathering in Montpelier on February 7, 2003 to be honored for their outstanding accomplishments, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly is delighted to honor the 71 Eagle Scouts who have gathered at the State House, and be it further

Resolved:  That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to the Green Mountain Council of the Boy Scouts of America in Waterbury.